Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
best soil medium for Amorphophallus

Posted by dancacti Melbourne, Aust zn10 (My Page) on
Sun, Aug 1, 10 at 10:34

Hi everyone, I'm new to Arums. Saw several posts recently on A. titanum and really love the idea of growing one of those beauties one day.

I have recently purchased A. bulbifer and A. 'konjac' from sellers on eBay in Australia.

What is the best soil medium to use? I will grow both in pots.

Also, we are 2/3 into winter here. When is the best time to plant the tubers? Should I wait until spring when the frosts are over?

Thanks!
Dan

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: best soil medium for Amorphophallus

The best mixture depends on the species and there are well over 100 species. These plants originate in SE Asia, through India into Africa and the islands in that region of the world.

If you can acquire a copy of the International Aroid Society journal Aroideana volume 19 from 1996 the issue is filled with information on this genus. You should be able to order it from the IAS at www.Aroid.org

In some cases, articles can be downloaded directly from the site in PDF format.

In the case of specific species search the data base at the lower left corner of the page for information. It will lead you to discussions held over the past 15 years or so of many species. Dr. Wilbert Hetterscheid is the world authority in the genus and is a regular contributor to the site as well as the Aroid l forum.

Steve

Here is a link that might be useful: The International Aroid Society

o
best soil medium for Amorphophallus titanum

This is one of the soil mixes recommended by the Bonn Botanical Garden for Amorphophallus titanum. They have grown some enormous plants.

Here is a link that might be useful: Soil mix and suggestions for A titanum

o