Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_19692433

Questions re Colocasia Royal Hawaiian

User
10 years ago

Hi all!
I am new to EE and have never owned one. I have this black EE in a giant pot dug into a hill by my pond. My soil is terrible, that is why the pot.
Anyway, I saw this on my EE today, I thought it was going to be a stem, but it doesn't look like one.
What is it?
And should I bring it in for the winter? or can I leave it outside mulched? The pot is dug into the ground.
But, it will be dry for the EE if I leave it out, right?
Will it go dormant and not require more water?
Would you bring it in?
Here is this thing
{{gwi:391082}}

{{gwi:391086}}

Comments (7)

• tropicbreezent
    10 years ago

It's starting to flower. What you can see is the spathe which is a sheath surrounding a central column called the spadix. The spadix has male and female flowers along it, quite small ones. The spathe should open out a bit to allow pollinating insects to get inside.

They don't like the cold but can survive cold climates if they're insulated enough. Don't know how cold it gets where you are but a lot of people do dig them out and store in a cool (but not cold) place. Some will keep them in a pot indoors where they keep growing. So outdoors if the ground stays dry they can be okay provided cold water doesn't seep through to them. Dry soil is a good insulator.

• User
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Tropic,
    Thank you very much for your response.
    I really like this EE so I think I might just bring it in for the winter. It will be dry inside the house from the heater, but I am afraid it will die outside.
    Average temps during winter at night is a little bit below freezing, that is cold to us. Average daytime temp is around 58-60 usually Jan, Feb and then March spring comes.
    I am afraid I won't be able to keep it real dry, and it might rot. So, I will bring it inside. It's very big, LOL and hubby will just have to share the space.
    Thanks again.