Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susanlynne48

Does Colocasia Macrorhiza Bloom?

susanlynne48
18 years ago

Just wondering - been surfing the net, but am getting too tired to research tonight, since that's what I do for a living. There are two little sprouts about 4" long that came up when the plant began to sprout its foliage. They are still 2 little sprouts, and I was wondering, could these possibly be bloom stalks trying to emerge?

Susan

Comments (18)

• bihai
    18 years ago

I think you mean Alocasia macrorhizza, no? I have 3 different forms of Alocasia macrorhizza...albovariegata, plain green and black stem, and none have ever bloomed for me.

• greenelbows1
    18 years ago

This spring my Alo. mac. wouldn't quit blooming and start growing. Blooms aren't that exciting--except for the first one or two of course!--and they seem to choose either blooming or growing new leaves. Personally I prefer leaves.

• susanlynne48
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Is A. macrorhiza the one they refer to as the "upright EE" and is hardy(ier). I've been overwintering in zone 7a successfully so far. Just wondered what the little sprouts that have been sitting there doing nothing, although overall the plant is doing fantastic this year. If they are not that significant a bloom, I'll probably just snip them off.

Susan

• cactusfreak
    18 years ago

Mine bloom all the time. If you leave the bloom it will form seeds and you'll have hundreds to plant.
    I don't bother. I've had a few to drop in the pot and grow on their own.

• susanlynne48
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I might try them from seed, just for the experience. Thanks for the info, everyone!

Susan

• dawn1528
    18 years ago

they ALL bloom, at least for me, but they usually stay small leafed until the blooms are gone.

the nancy's revenge will not open (stays rolled up) for me but continually blooms.

im with greenelbows1, id rather see them not flower.

• susanlynne48
    Original Author