Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joeb004

What to do with my konjac & paeoniifolius

joeb004
17 years ago

So its getting to be cold here now. I bring these guys in at night now; and have been watering less frequently. They still aren't showing any signs of dying out. Another month or so and they probably can't go outside anymore. Mn is getting a little chilly by the end of October. Should I stop watering all together at this point?

Thanks in advance!

Joe

Comments (11)

• nightbloomincereus 7A noVA
    17 years ago

just treatr them like normal, but with a bit less water. When the time is right they will flop over. Wait till the stems have dried up and remove them. Half of my konjacs already did that a month ago.

• jim_6b
    17 years ago

Send them to me and I will keep them warm!
    I'm in the same situation. I am new to growing amorphophallus and hope I don't kill them this winter.
    Jim

• philh
    17 years ago

nightbloomincereus, roughly how long had the first ones to go dormant been in leaf for? All of my amorphophallus came into leaf much later than i'd expected and some might not hit dormancy before it gets frosty, i doubt having 20°C nights in the middle of september is helping with their decision. Oh, does peaoniifolius have a considerably longer growing season than konjac?

17 years ago

hmm, I believe mine leafed out in april, or early may. They were started in the greenhouse, but I waited for new shoots to begin on top of the bulbs before trying to plant them. Dont' worry, they will tell you when it is bed time.

• philh
    17 years ago

My konjac tubers all looked desperate to be planted when i potted them up, unfortunately they seemed to sulk directly afterwards and didn't actually leaf up until mid-late may, every other species i grow was considerably later starting but some seem to be getting to the end of their season before the konjacs.

• Bonbon_N_KS
    17 years ago