Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Meconostigma Philo pics

Posted by asj2004 z5 NJ (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 26, 05 at 1:21

For those who also like the robust, arborescent Philos called Meconostigmas, I have quite a few pics from the Miami trip up at the Meconostigma website...just click on the 2005/9/26 links in the page below...

Here is a link that might be useful: Meconostigma aroids

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Meconostigma Philo pics

Looks good, I'm always a sucker for some eye candy.

o

Beautiful, asj! I'm a newbie - are all philos meconostigmas? And what is the definition? Guess I can look it up. I'm trying to find some good literature on aroids or arisaema, but I'm not having much luck.

Susan

o

Meconostigma is one of three subgenera of philodendrons. Basically the big ones with the beautiful leaf scars on their stems that can grow to be like small trees. For a more technical explanation, you might want to see:

http://www.aroid.org/genera/Philodendron/Keysubgphi.htm

... there are many gems hidden on aroid.org under the genera directory ...

I've heard rumors that there might be one more sub-genus broken out of Philodendron soon for the ones that crawl along the ground ( like P. plowmanii, P. gloriosum, etc. )

--Albert

Here is a link that might be useful: Genera of Araceae

o

How many species are in this group ?
I am trying to find the name of one a mate has with very fine pinnate leaves ,, he thought it was P. ridleyi ..
IT COULD BE A HYBRID , but man is it nice . This guy really knows his plants and pollination as he has done many hybrids within this group , but a lot of his knowledge is based on the old Tropica & Exotica books with many incorrect names . I have checked the 'blueboard' and wondered if that is a complete list of species .. or just what is available to photgraph in USA .

o

There are currently 19 species in this group:
http://www.blueboard.com/pahatan/pelukisan.htm