Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
taz6122

EE dormancy?

taz6122
14 years ago

Hi all, I have two alocasias(black stem and pink stem) and two colocasias(green ruffles and illustris) and was wondering if any of them have to observe dormancy. Thanks for your input.

Comments (9)

• shadowpaige64507
    14 years ago

I'm not an expert but I don't think any of them "have" to go dormant. Just depends on if you have the correct enviorment conditions to keep them growing (Greenhouse or sunroom).

• taz6122
    Original Author
    14 years ago

They will be by a window where they will get at least 3 hours sun and I have the area set up with 10 shop lights which the alocasias are growing great under now. Is that not enough light for colocasias? Also the temp. will stay between 65-70 all winter if we don't have the ice storm we had last winter. I will also have a humidifier going at all times.

• exoticrainforest
    14 years ago

I live near you in NW Arkansas and these will almost certainly go dormant.

I grow all my plants in a heat, humidity and moisture controlled atrium but almost all my Alocasia still go into dormancy. My really large Alocasia stay up but few if any of the smaller plants make it through a winter.

If you keep them in really bright light very near a window and keep the soil slightly dampened they might stay up. I have hundreds of aroids and virtually all slow their growth dramatically during winter. Be prepared for them to go underground for four or five months. The brighter the light and warmer the temperature the better the chance they will stay up. If cared for properly they will return in the spring or summer but some such as Alocasia Amazonica may stay down for a year or more.

You can see my atrium at the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: Exotic Rainforest

• taz6122
    Original Author
    14 years ago