Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barbmock

Anthurium clarinervium

barbmock
9 years ago

Hi there,

I have been reading the thread on growing aroids from seed. This is my plant that I have been growing for over 30 years. It is one of my favorite plants, easy to grow, no troubles with pests, and I think it is beautiful. I grow it as a houseplant, no greenhouse or tropical conditions. It does flower and sometimes produces clusters of berries. Last spring I decided to see if I could grow some seedlings. I was so surprised when the seeds all sprouted. And have grown into some cute miniatures of the mom.

Is there anyone out there interested in growing this plant?

Comments (205)

• petrushka (7b)
    6 years ago

Barbara, do you usually have several inflos maturing on different stems or different plants?

'cause as far as I know most Aroids have pollen maturing at a diff time in a closed chamber, so the self-pollination on the same inflo is not possible, but if you have several inflos maturing in staggered fashion - it is possible that they will cross-pollinate.

• barbmock
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Hmmmm, it’s a possibility, but there are no insects crawling around on them. I will try to notice what’s going on next time. I am amazed that they are able to reproduce when they are indoors.

• gardenfanatic2003
    6 years ago

Barb, I'm not sure about the terminology for aroids, but for lack of a better word, I'd say they broke off right under the crown - where the crown meets the roots. The crown had pushed up above the soil line - so between the weight of the top growth and the wind blowing them, two of them were bent over sideways.

It seems like aroids always end up with what I'd call the crown of the plant above the soil as they grow. I was wondering if it's because as the bark in the soil breaks down, the soil line gets lower?? Is it okay when repotting to bury "the crown" to help prevent them from toppling over?

Deanna

• Russ1023 (central Fla)