Return to the Aroid Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Joseph Merricks foot?

Posted by grabmebymyhandle 6 kentucky%21 (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 27, 12 at 22:28

Its really a...maybe we should play a game?

anybody got a guess?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Joseph Merricks foot?

What size are we looking at?

o

I suppose a little more info is fair, I plan on posting a new pic daily until you guys give.
As you can see from this pic it is almost exactly 5" from the tip of the "big toe" to the tip of the "heel" :D
Its a little over 4 inches across the widest point

o

Caladium ....?.

o

Nope not a caladium... Thanks for playing please try again!

heres todays pic, shows the under side of the foot, it is very foot like in person, I wish I was a better photographer... oh well.

Im havin fun with this i hope its not annoying...

o

Zantedeschia?

o

looks more like a ginger rhizome than the guess above

o

These are Z. albomaculata corms. They do get much more gnarly although I've never seen them as gnarly as Joseph Merricks foot.

o

: ( eclayne the winner!

sorry i was slow to respond

to be precise it is the variety known as captain murano, i had bought a few of the callas on sale for people, i kept this one for my old lady, I had no idea what was inside, i would have bought more.
thanks !
Im tracking down the rest i set out, the weather has certainly taken a turn for the worse here, how much winter can these guys stand before croaking

o

any one know enough to say what next best step would be, id like to have more of these guys but i also really like the massive tubers.
What size chunks should I cut them into to get sveral tubers this size?

How big can these tubers get?

Im concerned I should replant and start them soon they dont seem to be keeping as well as I had hoped, it wont be long and i can replant them.
Would that be my best bet? If so, when?