Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
southlatropical

??Monstera deliciosa questions??

southlatropical
16 years ago

How easy is it to propagate Monstera deliciosa from cuttings? How mature does the plant have to be? Will Monstera deliciosa climb a brick wall? Thanks for any answers that could be provided.

Comments (9)

• fozebear
    16 years ago

I'm not an expert by any means but here's my experience with Monstera. I had a very large plant that I just didn't have room for anymore. It had climbed all over the front porch and I needed the space. I hacked (and I do mean HACKED) it back and dragged the pot into the back yard for the winter. The cutting were thrown into the compost pile and the pot was left to fend for itself.

Well, the cuttings ALL took root. The original plant spent the entire winter with no protection in the coldest portion of my yard. In spring it jumped out like a jack-in-the-box.

So, my experience with Monstera is this. It's indestructible in our climate. It roots like crazy and it will cling to and cover your house if you so desire.

Note: This winter I'm dragging the original "monster" back under cover for the cold season. I feel ever so guilty for my attempted murder.

• southlatropical
    Original Author
    16 years ago

That's incredible the monstera survived outdoors in a zone 8b winter! I want to start a cutting from mine b/c I'm putting it in the ground outside next year in a protected spot. Were the pieces that rooted for you mature woody cuttings? Mine is still pretty small. But I guess I'll take a cutting, slap some root hormone on it, and put it in moist potting soil. Thanks for posting.

• fozebear
    16 years ago

Most of the cuttings were mature but I don't get the sense that you would have trouble rooting smaller ones.