Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gcmastiffs

Dormant Konjac?

gcmastiffs
18 years ago

I'm a beginner with this plant. In October, my lovely potted Voodoo Lily turned yellow and collapsed during a cool snap. As per instructions from reading previous GW posts, I dug it up and placed it in a paper bag to go dormant.

I looked in the bag yesterday. There are now 2 protuberances coming from the very dry root ball. One is pointy, the other still roundish.

Do I ignore this and leave it dry and in the dark? Or pot it up, water it, and move inside as needed?

It has been in the bag since October 19th. It only had one stem before it collapsed, now it has 2.

Thank you..

Lisa

Comments (11)

• ARUM
    18 years ago

Lisa,I would say by all means let it go dormant,however, also wait for an expert to post. Usually after the one leaf dies, it's time for it to go to sleep. :) Arum

• gcmastiffs
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks Arun, but I didn't phrase my concern very well - I'm worried that it has broken dormancy already, due to the heat here. How long do they need to stay in the bag? Mine looks like it is waking up.

Is it normal/correct for the roots to be bone-dry during this time?

Lisa

• ARUM
    18 years ago

Yes, bone dry roots is fine, but it should be kept in a COOL place to keep it dormant. :)

• beachplant
    18 years ago

Several of mine refuse to go dormant. Of course it's close to 70 today and supposed to be almost 80 tomorrow. I noticed one planted in the yard that is sending up a new leaf. Good luck! Tally HO!

• susanlynne48
    18 years ago

Is it necessary to even uproot it in Florida? And, if so, is it because you want to give it dormancy that it would not otherwise get in Florida? If that's so, you would have to put it in the refrigerator for a certain number of months I would think.