Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
locsinlady

Help in the Philippines

locsinlady
15 years ago

Having lived in apartments for years I now have a good sized plot of land, mainly scrub and lots of rocks in the Visayas, Philippines. Although I was a keen gardener many years ago in UK I am a complete novice in Asia.I don't know what seeds will grow and when to plant them and haven't been able to find Philippines in any zone tables. Can any one suggest where I find help ? I have not been able to locate any books for Asia gardeners? Any recommended garden supply centres maybe Manila or Cebu that I could visit when I am passing through? I would like to plant some fruit trees, grow some simple vegetables and then landscape the remaining area.

Comments (10)

• bambino_gardener
    15 years ago

Hi,

I suggest you visit The Manila Seedling Bank located at EDSA corner Quezon Avenue in Quezon City. Lots of fruit bearing trees suited for the Philippine climate are being sold there. They also sell lots of vegetables seeds. Just ask where the office of the Manila Seedling for the fruit bearing trees and vegetables. For the landscaping part, lots and lots of ornamental plants are also available there.

• erikcabasa
    12 years ago

hi tropical, I'm from Cebu.. I'm planting herb seeds right now. But I am hoping that my thyme seeds will germinate. This is my first time in gardening or planting and I bought a book and visited websites but I like here the most. Reading all of the information about gardening, I am confused because most of the how to guides are based outside of my country and confused whether it is hotter in here, fearing my young plants will wilt. Can you give me some advise? Do you know were can I buy some nurseries here in Cebu? Especially Thyme..

• rodgis44_gmail_com
    12 years ago