Return to the Asian Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help in the Philippines

Posted by locsinlady (My Page) on
Wed, May 7, 08 at 6:01

Having lived in apartments for years I now have a good sized plot of land, mainly scrub and lots of rocks in the Visayas, Philippines. Although I was a keen gardener many years ago in UK I am a complete novice in Asia.I don't know what seeds will grow and when to plant them and haven't been able to find Philippines in any zone tables. Can any one suggest where I find help ? I have not been able to locate any books for Asia gardeners? Any recommended garden supply centres maybe Manila or Cebu that I could visit when I am passing through? I would like to plant some fruit trees, grow some simple vegetables and then landscape the remaining area.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help in the Philippines

Hi,

I suggest you visit The Manila Seedling Bank located at EDSA corner Quezon Avenue in Quezon City. Lots of fruit bearing trees suited for the Philippine climate are being sold there. They also sell lots of vegetables seeds. Just ask where the office of the Manila Seedling for the fruit bearing trees and vegetables. For the landscaping part, lots and lots of ornamental plants are also available there.

o

locsinlady,

Welcome to tropical gardening paradise! In the Philippines as well as in other Southeast Asian countries with tropical climates, there's no specific growing season. You can grow anything and everything any time of the year as there is no winter, autumn or spring. It's like having only dry summer and wet summer (dry season and wet season).

However, there are some short-lived crops that do have a typical 'planting' season, like rice or corn. Generally, these crops are sown during the wettest months of the year, (June and July) as the farmers will have no problem watering them due to the heavy rainfall. They can be planted other times of the year but they need to be watered so costs to grow them can be higher.