Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nygardener

Uses for rau om (rice paddy plant)?

nygardener
17 years ago

This is my first year growing this lovely herb outdoors; I just added it to a vegetable dish with basil, lime juice, and a little hot pepper. I know it's a main ingredient in Vietnamese fish soup. Does anyone have some recipes or suggested uses for this herb (including ones for fish soup)?

Comments (8)

• pepperhead212
    17 years ago

Would you like to know a traditional use for it? The Vietnamese eat the small, young leaves with boiled, fertilized eggs, something I learned from some ladies who run a nail salon I deliver to.

If this wasn't the type of thing you were thinking of, here's a salad I make with it:

Chicken Salad with Rao Ram - Go Xe Phai

2 cup(s) cooked chicken; shredded
    3 tb lime juice (fresh)
    3 tb fish sauce
    2 tb rice vinegar
    1 tsp sugar; OR to taste
    2-3 medium thai dragons; OR serranos, minced
    2-3 clove(s) garlic; minced
    3 medium shallots; sliced thin
    1 cup(s) bean sprouts; blanched
    2 cup(s) napa cabbage; shredded
    2/3 cup(s) rao ram; chopped coarse
    1 tsp white pepper; optional

A. Combine lime juice, fish sauce, rice vinegar, garlic, chiles, and sugar, and stir to dissolve. Separate shallots into rings and mix with the dressing. Set aside while preparing rest of dish.

B. Tear chiken into shreds by hand, or cut into matchstick shreds with a knife. Blanch sprouts 20-30 sec., rinse with cold water, and drain. Toss with the napa, chicken, and rao ram. Pour dressing over, and mix well.

C. Serve as a salad, with freshly ground white pepper, if desired, with a rice or noodle dish, or serve as a filling for rice wraps.

Note: Cooked turkey also very good in this, and savoy cabbage may be substituted for the napa.

• nygardener
    Original Author
    17 years ago