Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovehummingbirds

How to grow Luffa (Si Gua) in Zone 5?

lovehummingbirds
19 years ago

I have been trying to grow Luffa in zone 5 Colorado for a couple of years now. But because of our short growing season each year I only get a few fruit and then the inevitable frost comes. I heard that Luffa does not like to be transplanted so I usually sow seeds in ground after May 15.

I used to live in North Carolina. The climate over there is perfect for growing a lot Asian vegies without much effort. Luffa, yard long bean and bitter melon grow like weed if there is enough moisture.

Does anybody have any success story in zone 5? Should I try starting them indoors and transplanting? Window box?

Thanks for any response.

Ying

Comments (11)

• vixenmoon
    19 years ago

I've just started my seeds, I'm in zone 8. Everything that I read said to start it early if you have a short growing season, but I don't have personal experience as of yet... this is my first year with it.

• Dill_Pickle_AR
    19 years ago

I don't know if it will work, but sow the seed in peat pots. When you put the pots out, make sure to tear the peat "liner" down below the soil line.

DP

• sharonInAustin
    19 years ago

I started mine in 6 packs last year using regular potting soil, and in April put them in the ground. They survived without incident. This year I winter sowed some seed. We'll see....

• Violet_Z6
    18 years ago

Just because a plant doesn't like being transplanted, doesn't mean it's not possible. If you have a short growing season sometime exceptions must be made. Just be sure you introduce them to the outside gradually and in increments to harden them off to the outside weather. Don't just bring them outside one day and plant them in the ground out of the blue.

• carolync1
    18 years ago