Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rhus_toxi

veg in hot and sour soup

Rhus_toxi
20 years ago

I'm new to Asian cuisine/gardening. Don't they go hand-in-hand? Having found a restuarant w/my favorite hot and sour soup, I however, cannot identify a vegetable in it. I've searched many recipes, but no use. It looks like a green pepper, julienned. It has more flavor, slightly bitter.I'm leaning toward luffa, or some call it vining okra. But, I've never had that, so am unsure. Can anyone please help me? This is getting to be great fun, got a wok for Christmas and my veg seeds arrived from Nichols Garden Nursery. This forum is great, only I could use some recipes for some of my veggies...sure that'll come later tho.

Comments (18)

• naturelle
    20 years ago

Hot and sour soups often have dried lily buds in them.

I've never had H&S with chinese okra, but it's possible some use it. Certainly the description is like what you describe.

Here is a link that might be useful: chinese okra

• Rhus_toxi
    Original Author
    20 years ago

I think I ruled out lily buds because this veg is green. I would assume the buds are pale-ish in color.

• zeng
    20 years ago

I'm having trouble with this one. Maybe you can ask your restaurant about it? They should be happy to tell you.

• Violet_Z6
    20 years ago

What is the texture? Pretty soft (melt in your mouth) or crunchy?

Light green or dark green?

• naturelle
    20 years ago

This is puzzling. Anything here strike a bell?

Here is a link that might be useful: oriental veggies

• Rhus_toxi
    Original Author
    20 years ago

It's a fairly dark green(like a grn pepper)and not really crunchy, but not mushy. I will try to ask them, but can be a sort of language barrier. Since they know me by the guy who orders h&s soup, they may not want to give away their secret;) When I find out, I'll post. Thanks everyone.

• zeng
    20 years ago