Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katwomn59

Kaffir lime plant: Can it be saved?

katwomn59
19 years ago

Some friends of mine gave me a kaffir lime someone else had given them. I beleive it was still in the orignal nursery pot. It is about 1 1/2' tall and the main stem is about the size of a pencil. It was in a pretty small pot and the lower part of the stem formed a spiral at the soil line. I recently repotted it because I figured it was rootbound, and the roots were all in a spiral and not very deep. Not knowing any better (I am a total beginner) I left the roots alone and just put it in a larger pot. Today I saw a post in another forum and found out that spiraling roots are not a good thing. There was a link to a tree nursery website that showed tree trunks doing the same thing as mine that suggested it was pretty much hopeless at that point. Of course these were much bigger trees so I am hoping it is not too late to save my little tree! And advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Lydia

Comments (6)

• breezyb
    19 years ago

With plants, nothing is ever totally hopeless - lol!

First off - how long ago did you repot it, & what does the leafage of the plant look like? Any new growth? Losing leaves? Color good?

If it's not losing leaves, color is good, or if there's any new growth - I'd just wait & see for a bit.

Now if you have reason to believe - besides what you've read - that the tree is doing poorly (trunk spiral notwithstanding), you might want to gently remove it from the pot & gently tease out as many of the roots as you can without destroying them. If it's so tightly spiraled that any root teasing is impossible, you can take a sharp knife or razor/box cutter tool & make a few cuts/slices vertically thru the tangled roots on 3-4 sides. Then repot back into the larger pot you had it in. The cuts should help new roots to form that will then be able to escape the "spiral" cycle.

• katwomn59
    Original Author
    19 years ago