Return to the Asian Vegetables Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Shang Suen - Shan Suen

Posted by hankua 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 11, 10 at 11:43

I've been growing this tree/vegetable for 10 years and propagate them also. What is the English or botanical name for the plant? Sorry about the spelling, not sure if it's correct. I was married to a older TMC doctor who says the vegetable is very healthy to eat, and the tea is good for diabetes. Also need some help learning to post photos as it would help to identify the tree.

Hank

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Shang Suen - Shan Suen

Maybe it's Chinese Toon (Toona sinensis (A.Juss.) Roem,Cedrella sinensis ). I know of only one type of tree that can be edible vegetable. Check out this link for a picture http://www.agrohaitai.com/others/chinesetoon/chinesetoon.htm

chaff

Here is a link that might be useful: chinese Toon

o

Great! I think that's it. The leaves on my Toon? freeze every year and I cut it back so it's easy to harvest the shoots.

Thanks Hank!

o

Your plant may not be chinese Toon. Only its leaves are edible, not the shoots.

o

According to the linked article, "Chinese toon young leaves and shoots are used as vegetable" and "Chinese toon sprouts are a nutritional, healthy gourmet vegetable and are more and more popular in China".

Jim

o

How do you post photos on this site? Then everyone can see just what kind of tree i'm talking about.

o

OK, I tried to post a photo on this site and have added a shot of the new shoots on Picasa. Hank

http://picasaweb.google.com/hankua

o

Hank, you need to copy the HTML code and paste into the GW message box. That is probably the simplest approach.

Photobucket

You can also use:
[img src="url of picture goes here" height="nnn" width="nnn"], except, replace the brackets with these: "< >"

That way, you can play around with the size to suit your preference.

Steve

o

Hank's plant:

o