Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimster_gw

Planting time for kai lan and yu choy?

jimster
18 years ago

This is my first year to grow kai lan and yu choy. I'm in Massachusetts. What is the right time for planting them?

My best information seems to say that kai lan is best grown in cool weather, i.e. spring and fall, while yu choy can be grown during the heat of summer. Is that correct? Does it depend on which varieties are used? Some of the information indicates that different varieties of each green do well at different times.

Jim

Comments (8)

• Violet_Z6
    17 years ago

Your assessments are correct. Kai lan/gai lan/Brassica oleracea is in the broccoli family so treat it as such. So they are a cool weather crop so plant for the fall or early spring.

Yu Choy is also in the Brassica family but will not tolerate temps that are too cold. I wouldn't necessarily grow it in full sun in 90-100 degree weather either - at least not without afternoon shade.

Yes, different varieties will do better in different environments. But as a general rule, both should do well in spring and fall.

Check with your state's Extension Service. Each county should have it's own Cooperative Extension Office which provides free publications and information for the asking. They can also tell you the average last frost date for your area and ideal planting times for specific crops and varieties in your area. (Broccoli, for instance.)

The following two images are excerpts from the Vegetable Planting and Planning Calendar for Missouri (download the pdf complete with spring and fall planting dates, how much to plant per person, etc. Just call up the office in your county. Look under the "Government" section (usually blue pages) of your phone book under "Extension". They will have valuable vegetable/gardening tables available specifically for your area from data they've collected from growing those crops in your state.

Experiment, keep a journal, let us know how it goes.

Violet

• jimster