Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
niveus_gw

Absolutely new to Gardening: Edamame + Barley

niveus
13 years ago

I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing when it comes to gardening, but I know that I want to do it.

The most I've ever done is an attempt to plant a Bonsai tree starting from seeds (about 3+ weeks ago), but I still haven't even gotten a sprout from the soil. (Using that special bonsai soil stuff...)

Anyways, what I *really* want to do currently is plant Edamame (for eating, of course), and Barley (to make into tea! if I can...)

So, I have a bunch of questions, since I'm a newbie...

Are there any books that are AWESOME at explaining different features of gardening?

Where can I buy Edamame seeds? I've heard that they're not your regular every day soy beans, so I'm apprehensive about going to the local store to buy them.

I also believe that I'm leaving soon, so I don't want 50 lbs of seeds that I'll never be able to use... I want to start with something small... In pots or something at first (if I need to transfer them once I move, that's fine.)

Is edamame a multi-harvestable plant? (I have no idea if that's the right term for it... You can harvest it multiple times after you cut off the old ones?) Is barley?

I'm probably forgetting a lot of questions that I thought up, but... Any help would be much appreciated. I'll probably have follow up questions soon.

Comments (2)

• denninmi
    13 years ago

You should be able to find edamame seeds in packages for a dollar or two at most any garden center. Many of the major seed companies have included them on their racks the past couple of years. Specifically, I've seen them on the racks put out by Lake Valley Seed Co., Thompson & Morgan, Ferry Morse, Botanical Interests, and I am pretty sure the larger Burpee racks will have them. Try looking at local garden centers with better seed racks and also at big box stores like Home Depot or Lowes.