Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
drcindy1

germinating winter melon seeds

drcindy
19 years ago

Hi all,

this is my first year at vegetable planting, asian or otherwise. Unfortunately, the seed package for my winter melon wasn't very specific in saying how long it takes seeds to germinate, how many to plant in one hole, how deep to plant, etc. It's been 1 1/2 weeks since I planted these seeds (I threw several into holes about 1" deep) and I haven't seen anything. Does anyone know how long it will take to germinate? Will I need to thin out the plants? Also, the weather here was cool and rainy for an entire week after I planted and the sun has just come out yesterday. I'm sure that makes a difference. Thanks for the advice.

Comments (7)

• Violet_Z6
    19 years ago

Sounds cool there unless you have a greenhouse or other methods where you can control the soil temperature. Unless it's a cool weather crop, just about all vegetable seeds will germinate within a week at 80 - 90 degree soil temperatures. This is how greenhouses who sell vegetable seedlings start their seeds.

Check out the Seed Starting Forum here at GardenWeb, they'll inform you of all you need to know about the topic:

Here is a link that might be useful: Growing from Seed

• barbara_in_la
    19 years ago

Ditto what Violet wrote... once the temps are warmer, the seeds will germinate. I had the same problem here in L.A. I planted the seeds (in pots) when we had a heatwave, and as soon as I placed the pots out to sit in the sun, the weather started to cool. It took a long while, but some of the seeds finally started to sprout. About a month ago, I potted up those seedlings into larger pots. In the past few days, I've found those same seeds which I planted about two months ago now sprouting, if that makes sense. It's been warming up here though... I hope this helps! Barbara

• drcindy
    Original Author
    19 years ago