Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gaelicgardener

bok choy flowers?**newbie alert**

GaelicGardener
18 years ago

This is my first year growing vegetables in my garden. I usually just concentrate on flowers. I bought 6 little bok choy plants and they're doing quite nicely. I planted them around May 15th. The leaves are getting bigger and are a lovely dark green. One of them, though, is growing a great big tall stem of yellow flowers. Should I just leave it alone? Should I be worried that the other plants don't have flowers as well? And when are they going to start looking like the bok choy that I see in the market -- they look more like the picture at the top of this forum.

Comments (22)

• breezyb
    18 years ago

Yup - you definitely do NOT want to see flowers on your Pak Choi (or on your broccoli, lettuce, broccoli raab, etc., etc.). It's definitely past it's prime at that point. If I were you, I'd harvest the flowering one completely & taste test a little, then keep a sharp eye on the rest & harvest them the very moment you see them even thinking about sending up that flower stalk.

As far as what your Pak Choi looks like, there are many different varieties - some that form short stalks, some that form flat rosettes, & then the tall upright bunching ones like you see at the market. You either have one of the short/flatter types, or your Pak Choi - due to weather or culture - is planning on bolting before it reaches its mature form.

• npthaskell
    18 years ago

No, No, No...
    the bolting stems with flowers are the best part!
    Eat from the flowers down the stem untill it gets too woody.
    A bolting stem is best just before the flower buds open up.

• breezyb
    18 years ago

Thanks for the info npthaskell - I'll have to try that with my Pak Choi if they turn.

• Violet_Z6
    18 years ago