Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sailamint

Pictures of bitter melon I harvested yesterday (long ..)

sailamint
16 years ago

Hi all,

Since there seems to be a growing interest in bitter melon, thought I would post some pictures of my bitter melon harvest from yesterday. I started the seeds indoors last week of March.

{{gwi:387468}}

and the bitter melon plant:

{{gwi:387469}}

{{gwi:387472}}

{{gwi:387474}}

I am a newbie here and I apologize if I posted too many pictures. If you do not wish to see so many, please let me know, I will not post as many next time.

Thanks.

Comments (26)

• Violet_Z6
    16 years ago

You can never post too many photos!

How long have your vines been producing fruit?

• sailamint
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi Violet,
    They started producing (mature fruit) 2 weeks ago. About approx. 85 days after I sowed/started the seeds indoors. I have 3 diff varieties.

• barbara_in_la
    16 years ago

Beautiful!!

• ruthieg__tx
    16 years ago

I have some seed and if I am going to have any this year, I think I need to get them in the ground...thanks for the pictures.

• winane
    16 years ago

Hmmmmmmm...ya making me hungry!

Thanks for the pics! Post more :D

win

• piksi_hk
    16 years ago

Wish my plants would produce fruits...only harvested one so far. Maybe it is too hot for it to fruit?

• sailamint
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi piksi_hk,

Bitter melon loves heat. In India the region where I come grom, it even produces during summer when the temperatures hover around 110 deg F and the humidity is over 90%. Are you also in California ?

-saila

• Violet_Z6
    16 years ago

saila & piksi_hk,