Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rebob_gw

Yard-long bean: bigger and bigger and........

Rebob
21 years ago

Hey all, I'm so glad this forum is up! Anyways, I was wonderin', I snagged a pack of "Martha Stewart" yard long bean seeds late in the season and got 'em to go pretty good. They have been producing quite well (I coated the seeds with legume inoculant prior to sowing) and was just wondering when to pick them. They're so huge! Yard-long? Duh, why am I so shocked? Anyhow, the packet said to pick them at 18 inches, but they seem awfully skinny to amount to anything. This is my first year with these, so anybody with experience, please fill me in. Thanks guys and gals,

I'll see ya 'round, Nathan

Comments (56)

• penny_md6
    21 years ago

I just noticed beans on my yard longs today. It won't be long now, yum!

• Carolnoel
    21 years ago

"yard longs" are wonderful!! I pick them when they are less than a pencil width...like them tender.

I like them brushed with oil and garlic and grilled on the BBQ...eat them with the fingers. Yum. Other than that...in anything stirfried or sauteed.

• adrianag
    21 years ago

DEEELICOUS!

• lalithar
    21 years ago

Anyone knows if we can plant yard long beans now?

• KAYGARDENER
    21 years ago

IN WESTERN OREGON, I PLANTED MY YARD LONG BEANS ABOUT A WK OR TWO AFTER THE BUSH & REGULAR POLE BEANS (~MID JUN), SAME TIME AS THE TOMATO & EGGPLANT STARTS... THE PLANTS KEPT ON GROWING, SO I THREADED THEM SIDEWAYS (ANOTHER 24-36") OVER A 7' BEAN TRELLIS... MY HARVEST LASTED FROM MID-AUGUST TILL LATE OCTOBER. I KEPT THE HOME-DRIED SEEDS FOR 2-3YRS & STILL HAD 90+% GERMINATION W/INNOCULANT...BEST OF ALL, IT ONLY TOOK ABOUT 3-5 BEANS TO MAKE DINNER FOR MYSELF & 2 KIDS, NICE & EASY TO PREPARE...GOOD GARDENING TO YOU, K.

• MissGardner
    21 years ago

stir fry with dash oyster sauce,sesame seeds,peanut oil and peacans or macadamia nuts.