Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carlota_gw

Growing Asian Pears from seed...any advice?

carlota
18 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to the asian vegetable forum but am in need of your advice.

I managed to get over 10 asian pear seeds to sprout with more on the way. What can I do to improve my seedlings chances? What growing conditions do asian pears prefer? What food? Do they need to be grafted or do they do fine on their own?

And the big question...am I nuts for even trying?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Carlota

Comments (5)

• abetsocal
    18 years ago

Why bother? The seeds may not be true to type. Starting December, nurseries (including Home Depot, Lowe's, OSH) stock themselves with bareroot fruit trees, Asian pear included. Last year I bought a grafted 4-in-1 Asian pear (Hosui, Shinsheiki, 20th Century, and Chojuro) for less that $15 at Lowe's. It bore fruits the same year.
    But if you really want to grow from seeds I would soak them overnight and put them inside a Ziploc bag with moist peat moss or perlite. Then I would place them in my south or southeast facing windowsill. Goodluck and welcome.

• carlota
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi AbetSoCal,
    Lowes? Very cool I will buy a tree in December. But...
    My seeds have sprouted and I am known for my patience with seeds. I play at hybridizing rose seeds which is an exercise in patience. I know that the seeds might not be true to type but the journey is always facsinating.

My asian pear seeds sprouted quickly in a combination soak of hydrogen peroxide and water. The ratio I use is 1 part hydrogen peroxide to 5 parts water.

I am hoping for more knowledge to help the grow stronger and better.

Smiles,
    Carlota

• MyraD
    18 years ago