Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hargerda_gw

Azalea Pruning - mature Azalea

hargerda
16 years ago

I have 10-15 Azaleas in my back yard that receive a good amount of sun during the Houston summer. They are very large plants measuring 6 feet in height and 5-6 feet wide.

For the past few years I have lost a plant or two because of some type of fungus at the bottom of the plant. I screwed that up big time.

I want to revive new growth, as you can see from the pictures, they have alot of wood on the inside of the plant, and are only leafy on the outside.

What is the best pruning/fertilizing strategy for this?

I am new to Azaleas, and any guid lines would help.

Here is a link to the picutres:

http://picasaweb.google.com/dave.harger/Azalea?authkey=e9aj1QEhhK4

Comments (2)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    16 years ago

Unlike rhododendrons, azaleas have growth buds all along their stems just under the bark....new growth will originate close to any cut you make.

While most don't require much in the way of pruning other than removal of weak or dead wood and whatever trimming is necessary to keep them shapely and within bounds - yours are looking a little gnarly :)

If you are looking for more compact plants, you can cut some of the heavier limbs back to a foot or so and should have new shoots develop to fill in the legginess. At the same time, shape them up to please your eye and remove anything leggy or twiggy.

Pruning now removes the flower buds for this springs showing - a better time to prune is immediately after they bloom. I have acidic soil naturally and don't fertilize these shrubs - they are not heavy feeders. I see you have a drip hose installed and that's good, you might want to consider adding a layer of mulch or top dressing of compost to conserve moisture, cool the roots.

• rhodyman
    16 years ago