Return to the Azalea & Rhododendron Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie with questions about dwarf azaleas

Posted by gtob (My Page) on
Fri, Jan 20, 06 at 15:25

Hello,

This is my first post and I am new to gardening. I recently saw some beautiful dwarf azaleas at Home Depot in the following colors: (1) coral, multi-petaled rose looking variety, 2) white variety, 3) and variegated salmon and white flowers. I bought all three and have planted them in a 2.5 foot wide planter which borders along the entire front of my home in increments of 2 feet. (The more I read, the more I realize that I may have a potential disaster on my hands, so I am trying to identify each species) I am in zone 9b, just west of Tampa, Florida. Here are my questions:

1. I have had trouble pinning down the exact species of each plant using only the online descriptions of the many varieties. Can anyone help me identify exactly which species I am working with (or which variety are offered at HD)?

2. Currently, each plant is approximately 1.5 feet tall by 10 inches wide. I'm aiming to form them into a lose hedge inside the planter, but is it going to take at least 10 years for them to mature? I can't identify the species, so I do not even know the max height and width of these plants...or if they are even appropriate for where I live.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie with questions about dwarf azaleas

Sorry but there are literally hundreds of azaleas that fit your description. You didn't even narrow down whether they were evergreen or deciduous. If they were properly when they were called dwarf azaleas, they will probably grow to be no more than 3' tall in 10 years but will not stop growing then, just slow down. If not treated properly with acidic soil, etc. they will actually get smaller in size until they die.