Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annemartin_gw

azalea

annemartin
17 years ago

I planted an azalea in May 2006. Initially it seemed to do well, but it never bloomed and eventually (late summer) it appeared to be dying off. About half of the shrub lost all of its leaves. The other half has sparse leaves which survived the winter but are turning yellow, then brown and shriveled. Most of the leaves have some small, white spots on the top side and the spots are dark brownish on the underside. The veins of the leaves are yellow, too. I cannot find any insects or frass anywhere on the plant. I gently dug up the plant to check for root rot, but cannot tell if this is a problem as I am a novice gardener. I do fear that I overwatered the plant all summer, and I also fear that it got too much direct, hot sun in the summer. Now I can see a few new leaves budding and some appear green and healthy but some are already brown. Do I cut off the branches that have no leaves? Remove all the brown and spotted leaves? Please help! Any advice that might revive this plant is much appreciated. (I can attach a picture if someone can tell me how.)

Comments (5)

• scenter
    17 years ago

My guess would be you have lacebugs on the leaves, they leave the leaftops looking like they have been heavily salted (white spots throughout the green) and their leavings are on the leaf underside, and are brown. Get an insecticide (I have used Rose ready mixed Insecticide successfully - I think it was Ortho brand) and spray thoroughly, making sure to get the undersides of the leaves.

The yellow leaves could be chlorosis - caused by high soil pH - is your soil acid enough? - use an acid fertilizer this year (like Miracid)

• annemartin
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you, scenter! I will try both.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    17 years ago