Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fieldhead

unsure what if anything iam doing wrong with my rhodendrons/azela

fieldhead
17 years ago

i was until last year a total novice gardener i have had fairly good results with most things though my wife fell in love with rhodenrons and azelas

we bought our first ones late summer 2006 from a garden centre i planted them in a shaded spot that got sun in the morning and shade afternoon they both failed to flower but look healthy enough by the way i did use the special compost suggested iam unsure of the type of rhodendron it is a large green plant with very large buds i have transferd it to a large pot now from the ground hoping it will flower

i also bought a rhodendron shamrock and a weebie and planted them in the late fall in a area that gets alot of sun has suggested on the plant labels they look very healthy and i top dressed them this week i am just a little concerned with the results last year they may not flower may be i am just impatient any tips for a novice like me would be welcomed has i would love to grow more rhodendrons

Comments (3)

• rhodyman
    17 years ago

Since you asked, I will tell you one thing you are doing wrong is the spelling:
    rhododendron and azalea

You can tell if they are going to bloom now. They should have two different types of buds. The smaller buds are foliage buds. The larger buds are flower buds. If there are not flower buds, here are some possibilities:

* Pruning. The buds are formed in late summer and early fall so pruning then or later is not advisable since it will remove flower buds. New leaf buds will form in the spring, but new flower buds won't form until the next year.