Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rolacoy

Tell me about the soil acid.

rolacoy
14 years ago

I have about 60 Encore Azaleas that I think were planted in May or June of 2008. They have done pretty well, but look kind of leggy. Also they are not very well leafed out it seems to me, but I am very new at this. I bought a tester at Lowes. It is Soil Master that checks PH, Light and Moisture.

I checked the the PH around the Azaleas and it is about a 6 or 7. I know that Azaleas need an acid soil. What should it be and how do I change the acid content.

Comments (6)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

Azaleas prefer soils whose aciduty is 6 or lower but tolerate less acid soil up to a point. A value under 7 means your soil is acidic, 7 means it is neutral and values above 7 mean the soil is alkaline. If your azaleas do not show symptoms of iron chlorosis (the leaves turn light green or yellow except for the leaf veins which remain dark green) then you do not need to amend the soil. Otherwise, add some sulphur (1 Tbsp), some green sand or some iron sulphate around the main trunk once a year.

Some azalea varieties tend to look leggy always while others get leggy when they get too little sun; around 4 hours of sun during the summer should be ok. More than that and the leaves might scorch from our hot summer sun. Pinching of new leaf buds in Spring sometimes help achieve a fuller look.

• rolacoy
    Original Author
    14 years ago

The meter reads from 8 (Alkaline) to 3.5 (Acidic). I would think that if Azaleas like Acidic soil that the number would be in the 5 range, but I have never used a meter like this before and I know it is a cheap meter, about $10.00. It may not give a true reading. I have used chemicals to test a swimming pool and dirt before. I will check the meter with a chemical test.

Last year I used some Azalea plant food and when I planted them I used Pine Straw to cover the beds. I have pictures that you can see.

Here is a link that might be useful: Encore Azaleas