Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarabell

How to plant (transplant) Azaleas in an alkaline soil

sarabell
16 years ago

Hi! Forgive my gardening ignorance, I'm a newbie, and I'd really appreciate some help from you experts.

I planted some Azaleas in my front yard a couple of years ago. I'm slightly less clueless now-- turns out my soil is completely alkaline (8.0). They have managed to live through my mismanagement, but of course they haven't thrived. I'd like to move these to a different location, so I want to know what I should do to the soil at that point.

The info I've found here is that I can use specific plant foods and mulch with pine needles to help bring acidity, but before even transplanting, I imagine that I should work something into the soil, then plan to try to add acidity regularly, how should I do this, and with what? Also-- coffee grounds? What should I do with them?

I'd appreciate any help, thank you!

Comments (6)

• rhodyman
    16 years ago

Usually such alkaline soil is a poor starting point. It is a constant and usually loosing battle. What is worse is that your tap water is probably alkaline also. The best thing to do is used a raised bed of good well-drained acidic soil and to irrigate with rain water. This way you should face very few problems and just have to periodically add a little azalea fertilizer like HollyTone.

Using a raised bed isn't too hard. The azaleas have shallow roots, so the raised bed only needs to be about 12 inches high. If you have to use native soils, use sulfur or iron sulfate to make the soil acidic. My website at:

Henning's Rhododendron and Azalea Pages

has instructions on making alkaline soil acidic and making raised beds.