Return to the Azalea & Rhododendron Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Rhody's...help with yellowing leaves..

Posted by its_alive z8 Oregon (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 30, 06 at 8:51

Hi everyone,

I am very new to growing Rhody's. I have one that is looking very sickly. The leaves are not a nice dark green, they are pale and yellowing.

The plant was given to me, and I would hate to loose it. What I know about this plant, the person has it for years, and it was a wild rhody when they had got it. It was beautiful when I gotten it.

Is the plant lacking something? It had a nice root ball when I planted it, also could it be getting to much sun? Where I have it planted, it get sun about 3/4 of the day, until late afternoon.

Any and all information would be wonderful.
Thank you all for your time.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Rhody's...help with yellowing leaves..

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 30, 06 at 12:25

Your normal soil ph should be fine for rhododendrons unless something has been done to alter it...addition of lime, brick wall, new patio poured nearby.

If we assume it isn't the ph of your soil, other reasons for the rhododendron failing could be planting too deeply...these have a dense network of surface roots that can't function when buried too deep. Overfertilization can kill enough roots that the remainder are unable to provide nutrients to the top growth, and poor drainage (we had a lot of rain this year) - does your ground stay soggy where you've sited this plant, is it in a low spot or near a downspout?

o
RE: New to Rhody's...help with yellowing PS

Sun, Apr 30, 06 at 14:15

Woops, that was supposed to have a link to rhododendron culture local to you :(

Here is a link that might be useful: Rhododendrons Portland Chapter

o

It could be getting too much sun, in general they grow like weeds here depending on where in Oregon you are.