Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cherrisa

Plumping up Azaleas?

cherrisa
18 years ago

My azaleas must not have gotten enough water last year . Out of the 9 I have two have died (one because it's was where the roots were disturbed to much) and only 1 bloomed this year where last year they all bloomed. 2 of them look healthy and the others look like they are barely hanging on to their leaves. Is there anything I can do to help them out? I'll post photos when I get home and take them.

We have only been in the house two years so I'm still learning how take care of everything I've acquired.

Thanks for any help.

Comments (15)

• luis_pr
    18 years ago

Hello, Cherrisa. Lack of water during the critical summer months can reduce the bloomage because that is when the buds form.

Weather issues can also affect the number of buds if the variety is not planted in its USDA Zone, if its location is always windy or if you get a lot of ups and down in temperatures. Lots of acidic mulch should help conserve the soil moisture in normal and windy times.

Planting them in too much shade can also reduce the bloom production so ck that they still get some sun. Sometimes the culprit is another bush that grew taller during the last year and now blocks the sun.

Using high nitrogen fertilizers can also reduce the number of blooms (azaleas are not heavy feeders).

Here in Texas we had a pretty rough drought and the same thing happened to me. Lost one azalea and one camellia. The bloomage on the Encore Azaleas was not up to par with previous years either while the rest blommed well (go figure?). One of the non-encore azaleas dried up considerably but, it bloomed and is growing back again. I pruned the dead wood last month so knock on wood!

See if any of these suggestions applies to your situation and take appropriate action. Good luck next spring!

Luis

• cherrisa
    Original Author
    18 years ago