Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
workingmomx3

Replacement azaleas

workingmomx3
15 years ago

First off, I am a novice gardener, so please bear with me. I've only recently had the time start working with our landscaping.

Our landscaper put in 3 girard azaleas in August 03 when we relocated to PA. The bed is on the north side of our house and is partially shaded from the afternoon/late afternoon sun. It is not a foundation bed. I started having problems with lace bugs in spring 2007. I had a tree service treat them in 07 and I did it myself in 08. I replaced one azalea in spring 08. This year, the one I replaced is completely dead. The other 2 are mostly gone.

Finally...my question...given my location should I replace with the same type azalea or try a different variety? Or should I try something else entirely? A neighbor, who is a landscaper, told me he has been having problems with girard varieties during the past 2 years and is not using them now. We didn't have time to finish the conversation to find out what he is recommending. I haven't had the time to head out to our local nurseries to see what they are recommending. I thought I would start here and take your ideas to the nurseries to compare with what they are carrying.

Thank you! Off to read more at GardenWeb on the care and feeding of my plants.

Comments (5)

• luis_pr
    15 years ago

Too much sun can keep away the very beneficial insects that keep lace bugs in check but I doubt that lace bugs by themselves are the reason why the Girard shrubs did not make it. I have not heard of problems with them; they are basically carefree shrubs. Cold hardy too. Have you done a soil test lately? Did the plants suffer because of a drought? Were they planted lower than the surrounding soil?

• rhodyman
    15 years ago

... were they under walnut trees. (they kill azaleas)