Return to the Azalea & Rhododendron Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What's wrong with my Rhodie flower buds in this picture?

Posted by pappu z5 IL (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 26, 05 at 16:45

My 4 Rhodies had nice fat flower buds with sorrounding leaf buds. The leaf buds are fully leafing out and there is no sign of activity in the flower buds. This is my first year of growing them(planted them last spring)...is this normal? Should I just wait for the flower buds to develop, maybe apply some bloom booster fertilizer? Please advise...

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What's wrong with my Rhodie flower buds in this picture?

That looks just fine..The nice plump bud will flower this year. and the elongated shoots are putting out new leaves.After flowering, new buds will begin to appear.

No worries, looks fine to me..

Ps...Don`t forget to deadhead after flowering..

o

• Posted by MorZ8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Tue, Apr 26, 05 at 20:23

I can't say I've seen that, and I took a walk around the neighborhood to check if there were any nearby doing the same...the flowers should open before the foliage buds on any that I've grown. Any that I've personally seen.

Maybe someone else here will have some insight into your plant, in the meantime I'll see what I can find about foliage preceding flower....Do the buds look as though they are showing some color and are going to open, or are they completely stalled?

o

The flower buds show no activity...they look healthy and green, but not the slightest bit of change or any hint of unfurling or budding out....This is the same with all 6 plants. The leaf buds are going gangbusters!Do the late flowering Rhodies do this?

o

Sun, May 1, 05 at 23:06

I rec'd this response for you from Library Hort., Univ. WA just today...