Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
robes22

unhealthy rhodys

Robes22
11 years ago

Last fall I planted 11 Cunningham White rhododendrons. My method of doing this was as follows: dug a hole a little bigger than the pot they came in, put the compacted root ball in the hold, heavily compacted the soil around the root ball.

Now its spring and the rhodys look like they are having some severe environmental stress, brown spots on leaves, some yellowing leaves and some leaves curling under.

My questions are am i right in saying its environmental? from the pics i compared mine to online it seems that way. Also, should I dig them up, scratch up the root ball and loosly plant it back in the hole? i think i may have compacted it with my foot too much. Let me know your thoughts please. I am new to landscaping/gardening so I am not sure if I planted them the right way. Thanks.

Comments (21)

• akamainegrower
    11 years ago

Rhododendrons need a highly organic, loose planting medium that will provide a lot of air space, excellent drainage, and good moisture holding ability. Placing them in a just-big-enough hole and heavily compacting the soil around them is pretty much the opposite of what they need.

'Cunningham's White is an especially tough and adaptable variety, so digging them up and replanting may save them. This will only help, however, if the native soil is already suitable or you amend it enough to make it so. Container grown rhododendrons are almost always in a peat-based medium. Roots will not easily extend out into a soil that is totally different, especially if it is clay based. The existing root ball dries out, shrinks and becomes very difficult to re-wet. This has very likely already happened to yours. Dig them up, amend the soil or create a raised bed, distress the root ball, soak in water to re-wet, if necessary ,and then replant.

• akamainegrower
    11 years ago