Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mainegrower

Message for Rhodyman

mainegrower
13 years ago

I saw news of your nursery visits in one of your replies to another question. How about writing an account of the new and exciting varieties you saw in your travels for all of us rhododendron addicts? Hachmann's nursery in Germany, especially, seems to be developing great new hybrids, but there are no doubt others.

I wonder if you could also give your personal assessment of how rhodendron nurseries in general are doing. It seems as if a large number, both retail and wholesale, have closed their doors in the last few years. How much danger are we in of having only the dreary, same big box store varieties and nothing else?

Comments (7)

• rhodyman
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am not an expert on the nursery industry. My interest was mainly to photograph the flowers of as many varieties as I could find. I saw lots of varieties that I had never even heard of. One thing that surprised me was the large number of old "iron-clads" that they were raising such as Nova Zembla, Roseum Pink, Roseum Elegans, English Roseum and Lee's Dark Purple. These are old fairly fool-proof plants. But they also raise many yellow rhododendrons and exciting newer hybrids.

Germany, and most of Europe in general, raises most of their rhododendrons on grafted plants. Many of their plants, if grown on cuttings on their own roots, as would be done in the US where grafting of rhododendrons is virtually unheard of, would be 1) too difficult to root to be commercially successful, 2) too tall and leggy, and/or 3) too difficult to raise due to low pH demands, susceptibility to root-born diseases, or poor root structures.