Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
longlocks_gw

Help with what brand fungicide to buy?

Longlocks
18 years ago

Hi,

Have many large mature (15+ year) rhodies (average of 9 feet tall) that are suffering badly.

Problem does not appear to be insects..think it is a fungal leaf spot disease? Not really sure, but reading this article published online by Clemson University and looking at the accompanying picture of Septoria leaf spot this looks like what I've got.

Recommended treatment is a fungicide...so I'm wondering what brand to use? Article mentions specific fungicide sprays like triadimefon, propiconazole, thiophanate-methyl, chlorothalonil or mancozeb but not which BRAND contains these ingredients.

I have never used a fungicide before so felt rather helpless the other day when confronted by the many many products out there! Can anyone recommend a brand that would contain one or more of these mentioned fungicides that they've used successfully? Any brands to stay away from????

Thanks in advance for your help!

Longlocks

Comments (8)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Funginex, Daconil....Bayleton is a product easy to use as it is systemic and awkward lower leaf surfaces don't necessarily have to be covered. Whichever you buy, be sure to understand and follow the container directions very carefully.

But, I wonder if you wouldn't like to get a visual ID of your plants problem before treating. There are lots of leaf spot diseases, and insects and cultural problems that might lead you to think you have a fungus of leaves. Could you post a photo, or take an example leaf to your nearest county extension agent or full service nursery.