Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pacnwgrdngirl

Need To Move Vincent van Gogh

pacnwgrdngirl
16 years ago

Hello, I am very new to Rhododendrons .I have been planting many this season. I have a Vincent van Gogh that needs to be moved. He is in way too much shade. I know they're roots are very shallow, so I will consider that when digging him up. I've never transplanted a Rhodie, he's two years old and very spindly. When is the best time to transplant? Does anyone have comments about this one? Or pictures? It's hard to find information on him. Thanks!

Comments (8)

• Embothrium
    16 years ago

It's a bit late for that, he's been in the ground a long time. Ohhhhhh: You're asking about a rhododendron!

"Here is a variety that is seldom seen. It has an almost unbelievable flower, somewhat like 'Rainbow' only better. It has a very white center with a red picotee edge and red on the back side of the flower. Foliage is a dark yellow green."

--Harold Greer, GREER'S GUIDEBOOK TO AVAILABLE RHODODENDRONS

Wait until fall to exhume old Vinney, he will be making new shoot growth now.

• pacnwgrdngirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago

He was the very first Rhodie that I ever got. The flowers were very different and pretty. I will wait until fall to move him. I figured that would be the best time anyway.
    Thanks bboy ~

• rhodyman
    16 years ago

You have yourself a very nice but unusual plant.

The best thing you can do now is to prune the top back a little so it looks better and root prune it. This will make moving much easier. Pruning the leggy top back now will allow you to improve the appearance without loosing flowers buds. Root pruning will make the root ball more dense. To root prune, just go around the drip line of the plant with a spade, pushing it down do cut any roots that grow out from the plant.