Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amib_gw

Disease? And if so, how to treat?

amib
15 years ago

Hi there,

One of my three rhododendrons is doing beautifully - it's green and perky and is starting many blossoms. The other two are not looking as good and I'm not sure what to do about it. One got flattened by deep snow this winter and is gradually straggling back to its usual habit, but a few branches appear to have died off. One has been plagued by rust-coloured patches on its leaves that start off about the size of a quarter and slowly spread over more of the leaf; the flattened one has now acquired a couple of these patches as well.

I'm pretty new to this whole gardening thing - if anyone has any suggestions on what this rusty stuff could be and how to deal with it, I'd appreciate your insight!

Comments (4)

• arbormike
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Rhododendron are susceptible to a variety of fungal infections. However you mention one is doing fine, one has been flattened by snow and the third has leaf spots. Are they all planted in similar conditions regarding sunlight, drainage, soil etc? If not, I would suspect the one with leaf spot is planted in wet or poorly drained soils.

• amib
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Sorry if I wasn't clear - I planted them all together in a small group, trying to hide an ugly pit holding the sump pump; I figured that having the pit there for runoff might help make up for the clay soil, and made sure to plant them up a little higher than ground level. The only environmental difference I can think of is that the spotty one gets the most light; the one that's doing best is in near-total deep shade (right next to a fence). Could that be the problem? It's still nothing like full sun.

• arbormike
    15 years ago

I doubt the sunlight is the factor then. I have seen rhodys grow from partial shade to full sun, both with good results.