Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

do you think my azalea is dieing or in shock??

jameya
9 years ago

Hello all,
I am new to attempting to grow flowers or anything really. About a month ago I bought a girard's rose azalea at lowes, kept it for a week and its been in the ground about 3 weeks now. It has dropped all flowers, and the leaves still look healthy, and then today I noticed that a couple of the leaves are turning a darkish green. I've read some plants/ flowers go through trasnplant shock, but I'm not all that sure if I picked a great place to plant it. Its faceing east/ south and to the south in the next yard there is a HUGE tree that provides shade, as well as a head high bush that is about 5 foot from it. I'm finding out I do have clay type soil. When I planted it I scored the roots a bit and then used top soil and some dirt that came out of the hole that was dug. Also I put some fertilizer into the hole for azalea's and rhododendrons but its not touching the roots, I dug the hole a bit deeper and then put a small bit of the fertilizer in and put maybe 2 inches of the top soil, then sit the azalea into the hole.
I've also recently bought a roseum elegans rhododendron I was going to plant in this same area, but maybe behind it, or beside it a little ways out, but I am not sure if this spot is good or not for them...any thoughts, or ideas would be appericiated and helpful!!

Comments (12)

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here it is...

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And another, you can see the darker green leaves....should I move it, leave it alone or any other ideas??

• CaroleOH
    9 years ago

Azaleas only bloom for a short while - especially in Ohio. If they were already blooming when you bought the plant, it may just be done.

Also, here in Columbus it's been very wet and cold, so may just not be warm enough for the plant to keep it's blooms for a long time. Where are you located in OH?