Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tanyag_gw

Rooting Azaleas

tanyag
15 years ago

Hi all, I am new to the azalea forum and have gotten two cuttings from my grandmother's tree. Eventually I wish to use them for bonsai. I am worried they may be too large, but according to the Azalea Society of America, cuttings can be 2-5". I know the procedures for trying to accomplish the task and that it is easier for evergreens vs. deciduous (mine are evergreen). They bloom in February here in Texas and they are putting on new growth. These two pieces broke off and he wanted me to try and root them. My question is will I ever need to open the bag to add water and how hot is too hot? The only place I have for them to get a LOT of light but no direct light is outside. We have had a very cool spring but have now started hitting the 90's. Will this be too warm? I can move some of my indoor bonsai from a southwest facing window that gets morning sun but not hot afternoon sun if this would be better. I am about to put them in their pots. I just need to know where to put them and will I need to water. Thanks so much in advance.

Comments (7)

• rhodyman
    15 years ago

That is 2 to 5 inches long, not in diameter.

If they are large, then take cuttings off the ends of the branches. Some people even cut branches into sections and root each section. In general, evergreen azaleas are easy to root.

Do not let sun hit the bag. If you must place them outside, do that. The bags should never need to be watered, but may need to be opened to let some water evaporate if you get too much condensation in the bag.

Lots of luck.

• tanyag
    Original Author
    15 years ago