Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sonny300

Something is amiss with the shade advice!

sonny300
17 years ago

Please take a look at (mp page) and note the flowering azeleas, both decidious and evergreen. I just dont get it--why 90% of my azeleas are flowering this year and only 5% of my Rhodos. Thought that azeleas needed more light than rhodos. This makes it hard to believe that the problem is a lack of light. I have never used hollytone before, but am wondering if maybe I should. Just using a light top-dressing of sterialized steer manure the past couple of years. Also, have been spraying every 15 days with Lagon and now see no evidence of notched leaves on new growth-(I did have a lot of weevils.) Would the weevils have inhibited the flowering? Thanks

Comments (4)

• rhodyman
    17 years ago

The correct advice is that some azaleas and some rhododendrons need more light than other azaleas and other rhododendrons. The two rhododendrons you have photos of blooming last year are both late blooming R. maximum hybrids and would be genetically inclined to bloom in more shade than other rhododendrons. If they are not blooming this year, then you have problems.

Steer manure is equivalent to .3-.2-.1 . This is a the wrong ratio for rhododendrons and azaleas. The excess of nitrogen will reduce flowering and increase foliage growth.

HollyTone is much better, it is 4-6-4. I am sure you will use more steer manure than HollyTone, so steer manure is much higher in nitrogen.

Probably cutting back on fertilizing all together and perhaps moving rhododendrons where there is less shade of removing some of the shade may be long term solutions. If we knew what varieties of rhododendrons didn't bloom and how much shade they had, we could look at this more objectively.