Return to the Azalea & Rhododendron Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Rhodies danger to foundation?

Posted by JennNH NH (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 25, 13 at 18:48

I'm a gardening novice and learning by lots of trial and error. My brother in law told me rhodies were harmful to foundations because of "aggressive roots." I hadn't heard that before and wondered if he was confusing them with lilacs (which abound here in NH). Any thoughts? I planted two lovely bushes along my foundation three years ago and they just started to bloom this year. I would be bummed to have to move them.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Rhodies danger to foundation?

Rhododendrons pose no danger at all to a foundation. Their roots remain fine and threadlike for the life of the plant and grow only in the upper 8-12" of the soil. As for their alleged aggressiveness, many of us who are devoted to rhododendrons would probably wish they were a bit more so - it often takes a good deal of time for their roots to really take hold after they've been planted out.

o

What aka says was really brought home to me when I visited the Rhododendron Species Foundation a few years ago. They were transplanting some of their largest rhododendrons. They had the roots clamped down on a shipping pallet for the move. The roots were only about 5 inches thick and didn't even extend all the way to the drip line. Here is a photo of a rhododendron that was 8 to 9 feet tall:

o

It's the other way around Jenn. Oftentimes planting a rhodie near limestone foundations results in chlorosis, etc from a high alkaline soil.

o

• Posted by botann z8 SEof Seattle (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 2, 13 at 23:40

I thought foundations were made of concrete.
Yes, there is lime in concrete. Very little of it leaches from the foundation. At least not enough to adversely affect the ph to the point rhododendrons suffer. Here in the NW, rhododendrons are a standard foundation shrub.
Left over mortar around a chimney is another matter.
Mike

o