Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenclueless

Remedy for sunburn?

gardenclueless
15 years ago

Hello all, I'm new here and new to gardening. Last fall I had some shrubs planted in two small beds in front of the house, five azaleas, two camellias and three gardenias. The gardenias and camellias are thriving, and until a week or so ago, the azaleas looked wonderful and healthy -- lots of shiny green leaves and new growth. They were late to bloom this spring, but produced quite a few flowers when they finally did.

The last few weeks have been extremely hot here with little rain. I do my best to keep the beds watered, but was out of town for a week and my housesitter was not as diligent in tending to the plants. Three of the azaleas in particular are suffering from sunburn, one quite serious. The leaves are reddish brown and dry. I have been watering twice a day the last couple of days in hopes it will help but I'm worried. Since I'm new to all of this, I am not sure how to treat the plants. Is moving them my only option? I am a little nervous about transplanting since I've never done it before and the plants are already so stressed, I am afraid to add to it. If it's useful to know, we live in Western Arkansas and have a northern exposure. There is a mature oak in the yard that provides shade at various spots throughout the day. The azaleas are in a spot where they get morning and early afternoon sun mostly. Not surprisingly, the healthy ones are closer to the house and thus more shaded than the three with sunburn.

Please let me know if there's anything I can do for the poor things. I feel terrible. :-(

Comments (4)

• rhodyman
    15 years ago

I have a couple questions.

Why do you think that watering twice a day will help?

Why do you think that moving them will help?