Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevedowty

What rhododendron is best in full sun?

stevedowty
14 years ago

New here...first post, so please excuse me if this is something that has been hashed out before.

I have a spot in my garden that is calling for a dark evergreen with a coarse texture and floral interest...which is virtually a perfect description of a rhododendron. It's an east-facing slope with a Zone 6 microclimate (my neighbors are more Zone 7, but we're reliably 2 weeks behind them in everything). The entire yard gets strong sun all morning--I've already given up growing camellias in the front yard (though they thrive on the shaded and sheltered north side, along with sweet olive and gardenias, which shouldn't even survive here).

I have little experience with rhododendrons, but I've always read that they like shady conditions. Is there any rhododendron that does well in the conditions I described?

Comments (4)

• luis_pr
    14 years ago

Hello, Steve. Zone 6 requires that you plant early blooming Winter Series camellias developed by the U. S. National Arboretum or the late blooming April Series developed by Camellia Forest Nursery. Many of those are good in Zone 6.

Rhodies and camellias like some protection from the hot afternoon summer sun. Shade starting at around lunch time or so would work well for either plant but, in some places near the Canadian border, you can grow rhodies in near full sun conditions.

Do you mind me asking in what state do you live? There are some Zone 6s where the soil is a problem for rhodies. They like well draining, well mulched, acidic soils and have very tiny shallow roots in the top 4" of the soil that do not do well growing in soils with limestone. For example, Colorado can be difficult for rhodies. The alternatives in such cases are to try building raised beds using acidic soil or try growing them in pots.