Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
newbi_gw

Azalea... rooted cutting?

newbi
18 years ago

Hi,

About three weeks ago I took some cuttings from my azalea, dipped them in rooting hormone and stuck in some soil in a pot. They seem to be doing well... about 7-8 cuttings to a small pot of soil. Though they look great and seem to be doing well I haven't actually pulled any out to see if they are developing roots. Just wondering what my next step is. Is it silly to think that they will have developed roots in three weeks and should I wait another three weeks before doing anything with them? Do I leave them as is and bring them in for the winter and place them in an unheated basement next to a North facing window (only north facing in the basement) or do I pot them in the ground? Or did I start this all too late and going to lose them? Any suggestions?

Lisa

Comments (9)

• chester_grant
    18 years ago

I am no expert but I know enough to know that with azaleas and rhodies you need months for the roots to grow, if at all. I have tried this with rooting powder and have had zero success with any root growth after months. My only propagation success with rhodies has been with ground layering over a one/two year period.

• newbi
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the info. I may try that method next year.

• rhodyman
    18 years ago