Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
johnaw_gw

how big does rhododendron get

johnaw
15 years ago

I am new to Rhododendron and would like to know how tall and wide do they get?

I am thing of ether planting a Magnolia or a Rhododendron on the Northwest Corner of my house.

Do they get 5 or 6 feet tall or taller?

I don't really want something that gets 15 to 20 feet tall. It will be sating on top of a drainage tiller for my downspouts. But I would like something long lived.

I need some expert advise on this, someone that has had one or both of these plants or bushes or Trees.

Comments (9)

• User
    15 years ago

Rhododendrons are a members of a very diverse, large group of plants. R. maximum can eventually form sprawling thickets up to 30 feet in height. R. elegans (a common attractive variety with lavender flowers) gets to a maximum of about 15 feet. I bought a house with elegans planted close to the foundation. I removed one larger one but am keeping another on the side. It's rate of growth is not that fast and I figure I can also prune back some. You should do a little research on more dwarf varieties. If you are looking for an evergreen, also consider one of the hollies. I love boxwood, but zone 5 may be too cold for it. Also, by Magnolia do you mean the everygreen (M. grandiflora) or one of the very numerous deciduous Magnolias? No matter, these are really large trees. Don't know if there is one dwarf enough for your needs. Even the "Dwarf" evergreen, Little Gem, wants to get to be a sprawling 30 foot tree. Additionally, all Magnolias are shallow rooted. I would not plant them too close to the foundation of a house (been there, done that with one that had to be removed eventually). Good luck!

• johnaw
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Would you go with the Rhododendron?

The Magnolia is Sweet Bay and yes it is deciduous. This is what I am afford of because it would only be 10 from the foundation or basement wall.