Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
formandfoliage

Rhododendron de-flowered

Here's our latest blog post, with photos from two lovely Rhododendron collections, the Mendocino Botanical Gardens and the private Gardens at Harmony Woods. Rhodies aren't just pretty flowers!

Here is a link that might be useful: Form and Foliage: Rhododendron

Comments (4)

• rhodyman
    10 years ago

Beautiful photos. Love your color combinations. DonâÂÂt forget the blues of the sky and the greens of leaves that are almost always present and go beautifully together.
    I am not an artist but have a scientific background and scientifically the complimentary colors as we find out using lcd displays, inkjet printers and photoshop are:
    Blue & Yellow
    Cyan & Red
    Green & Magenta
    This opens up even more possibilities.

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

An invention called a color wheel has been used to compare colors. Home gardeners and others assembling small plantings can visit well-stocked plant stores and carry potted specimens around to hold up against other kinds of plants on display, see how they look together.

Nowadays many plant outlets here also show the way by assembling and maintaining changing "displays" of different kinds of potted plants having both complimentary and contrasting features.

This post was edited by bboy on Sun, Nov 10, 13 at 14:15

• Sara Malone Zone 9b
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Yes we've written about this before (see link). We find the color wheel invaluable in selecting pairings/groupings of plants. Thx for noting that, Ron.

Sara

Here is a link that might be useful: Using color theory to create harmonious foliage combinations

• rhodyman
    10 years ago

My point is that the color wheel was not an invention, it can be discovered. We can discover complimentary colors every day with our color printers or color TVs and monitors.