Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
orchids41

Ratty Red Ruffles

orchids41
18 years ago

These were planted along the north-facing front walk of the house we purchased last year. They must be 5-6 years old. The only direct sun they get is late afternoon in the summer. Despite sufficient water/fertilizer/mulch, they bloom sporadically, and the foliage is ratty looking. Maybe they just need rejuvenating (cutting back mercilessly next spring)? I'm considering ripping them out and replacing them with either 'Fashion'...love that coral color... or a nice white. Any advice would be welcomed. For example, will the 'Fashion' be a pruning problem, since I'd like to keep the height to 2'-3'? Any recommendations for a nice, clean (drops it old flowers) white that will do well in z9b? In case you haven't guessed, I'm fairly new to growing azaleas, being a South Florida transplant myself. judy

Comments (7)

• rhodyman
    18 years ago

The shade is the main problem. Azaleas tend to grow tall and spindly and not bloom if they don't get enough sun. If you moved them to a sunnier location they would probably be happier.

• orchids41
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Tall? no Spindly? yes! Sounds like I'd be better off replacing them with something that does well in shade and not even *trying* to grow azaleas in this location, huh? Thanks. ...judy

• katrina1
    18 years ago

If you have then along the north walk, do they get afternoon shade? or do they get both morning east and afternoon west sun? Red ruffles grow and bloom well if they are in acidic properly draining moist soil, and when they receive morning shade and dappled afternoon shade. Morning shade with full afternoon sun stresses them, and I am almost certain that full morning and afternoon sun would kill them.

• orchids41
    Original Author
    18 years ago