Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdwagner_gw

Transplanting Mature Azaleas

mdwagner
13 years ago

I am about to begin a home renovation that will require moving 6 mature azaleas. I have read some very helpful posts on the forum about the process for transplanting. I would like to use the azaleas around the foundation of the addition but I won't be able to plant for at least a month. I've thought of 3 options and wanted some guidance -

1. Find out that it's not possible and plant them somewhere else in the yard

2. Plant them in a temporary location for a month and then re-transplant when the foundation is complete.

3. Wrap the root ball in burlap for a month and keep them watered.

4. Something else?

I'm a rookie so please help - thanks!

Comments (4)

• rhodyman
    13 years ago

All are viable solutions. I would recommend combining 2 & 3. Ball and burlap and then heel in a temporary location. Then move to the new location when it is ready. This minimizes transplant shock both times.

A couple precautions.

When heeling in a plant, make sure it is mulched real well so that no burlap is exposed. Burlap wicks moisture out of the ground.

Areas near foundations of additions tend to be alkaline from the mortar, cement, etc. You may need to remove any such contamination or use a raised bed. If your soil is naturally acidic, then you may be able to just apply powdered sulfur for a couple years.

If you use natural, untreated burlap, you can leave it in the ground after opening up the top and making sure it is covered with soil and mulch.

If you use treated burlap, you will need to remove it when you plant them to the final spot.

Here is a link that might be useful: How to care for azaleas

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    13 years ago