Return to the Arizona Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wok bowls

Posted by jtap Az (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 23, 12 at 2:13

Greetings!

I am new to Arizona and have 5 wok bowls in my backyard, 3 are smallish, about 20 inches in diameter and 2 are large, about 38 inch in diameter. In the fall I planted geraniums and asylum in the larger bowls and petunias in the smaller ones. I am not sure if I want to stay with the annual plants or switch to perennials. The yard faces southwest and each of the pots have their own drip line. What would be some good suggestions for summer annuals and perennials for this type of arrangement? Any advice you guys could give would be great and GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks,
Jenniffer

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wok bowls

Welcome to Arizona, one of THE most fun places to garden that there is.

Your winter combinations sound GREAT. I do tons of geraniums each winter and love them (petunias, pansies, calendulas and alyssum too). I've got a few wok pots too and really like them. One of mine currently has a bunch of blue lobelia growing, surrounding an old fish shaped pot I plopped in the center. It's not high art, but it's pretty.

For summer you can definitely go with some fun lantana--there are lots of new dwarf types out there. If you'd rather go with annuals, you can go with vincas which love it here in summer. There are upright types and even a few new-ish cascading types that would like those conditions overall. Celosia and gomphrena like summers here too, and I plant those now and then, but it's hard to go wrong with vincas or lantanas. If the pots are nice and big and you keep things watered, you could even do hibiscus, although I'm not sure it would look quite "right" with such wide/low bowls. I'd do lantana and/or vincas.

We'd love pics of your winter pots some time. They sound great!

Happy gardening. Welcome to AZ and to the forum. Post as much as possible, as often as possible. :)

Grant

o Post a Follow-Up